#WeekendCoffeeShare – June 25, 2017

Hi everyone.  Happy Sunday.  Have you all had a good weekend thus far?  Hope so.

It’s really heating up around these parts.  The middle part of last week had us at around 115 here in the Tucson area.  I took this photo of the temp inside my car (the windows had been rolled down a while when I took this) – gives and idea just how HOT it can get in there

Last week, I also did more baking of baked goods to take to our local firefighters.  We ended up getting some zucchini, bananas, apples, and carrots in our bountiful basket a Saturday ago so I made those into muffins.

My son continues to do quite well at the summer school thing he’s doing…  Did I mention he is taking Biology at summer school?  We wanted to try this new school out to see how it worked for our son so we decided to put him in summer school to see how he does and how he liked it….  It is basically a two week session 4 hours, 5 days a week.  He has already completed first semester Biology and is 1/2 way  through 2nd semester.  He has a very good chance of completing and earning a full year’s credit for that.  He would only need one more credit in science towards graduation which he could do his 10th grade year.  

I think he will do quite well here.  The school, not sure if I’ve mentioned any of this before, is an online based high-school  so kids work at their own pace.  At the same time, there are teachers there and small group classrooms for support.  There’s no passing periods, no lunchtime (other than a 15 minute break to eat), no recesses – all times that have been problematic for my son when it comes to being teased or bullied (Not being there when any of this happens, I can’t say which one applies to a given even or cirucumstance), which seems to lead to other problems because our son doesn’t handle that kind of stuff well and isn’t good at seeking help of others for those situations.

There is the slim possibility he could compete all the credits needed towards graduation by the end of his junior year (or close to it anyway).  Did some figuring – If he can get 6 credits in (which is what he did his freshman year)  both his sophmore and junior years and then get another credit each summer during the summer school session.  He would only have 1 credit left to be earned his senior year.  He could, feasibly, earn 2 credits in a summer but he would need to go to both summer sessions which would mean possibly missing out on summer camp – which I don’t really like the idea of.  We also don’t know how fast he will progress in certain courses like science & history (which are his strong subjects).

I’ve kind of gone on about my son and this new school thing, haven’t I – sorry about that.

I was set up, this last thursday, at the farm & art market again 

This time I had a canopy, thanks to  one of the vendors (and boyfriend of the coordinator) who put one together for me.  He’s charging me $25 but payable in chunks.  Since we weren’t charged an event cost -due to the excessive high heat there was concerns that it would be a slow evening – I applied the event fee towards the cost of the tent so I only have $10 left which I’ll pay off the beginning of next month.

I guess that’s pretty much it for this week.  Be sure and head on over to our host to see other Weekend Coffee Share posts from others and add your own in. 

7 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare – June 25, 2017

    • Sad thing is that so often they get away with it… Not easy to catch them in act. My understanding & experience is they do things in a way that they look innocent in front of authority (teachers, etc). Thank You. Always appreciate pawkisses… What is your pleasure? – Scratch behind ears, tummy rubs?

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

