#WeekendCoffeeShare May 07, 2017

Welcome to another Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Emily over at Nerd In the Brain.  Just brewed myself a cup of coffee.  Care to join me?!?

So, what have you all been up to this past week?  Anything good and exciting?  Not so much for us here.  The weather is starting to heat up here in Arizona.  We had our first 100 degree day of the year back on Thursday I believe it was.  Today is suppose to be much much cooler only in the mid 70’s.


Monsoon season is not too far away.  I love watching and listening to the  lightening and thunder, but could really do without the torrential downpours of monsoons – though I know that the rain is desparately needed.  Most of our rain comes during that time of year; But turning into a proverbial drowned rat trying to get from the store (or whereever) to my car.  Sure I could carry an umbrella but they can be cumbersome to carry around, you don’t really know when the rains will hit (they come, they go just like that) and they really don’t do that much good in a good strong monsoon rain….  Listen to me going on about the weather 😌😔.  I’m sure you didn’t come here to have me go on about that.

What else….  Next week, my son will be getting his Star Rank in scouts (have I mentioned that already – knowing me, I probably did).  He’s off on a camping trip this weekend.  Gramma will be picking him up later this morning and he’ll be spending a few days with her.  He’s coming along quite nicely in Martial Arts – Each meeting (lesson) is an improvement from the one before.  His directional confusion is causing him difficulty remembering which way to turn when doing the set of movements he’s working on (to be honest I don’t know what you call those… The one he is currently working on is something Koshodone or something like that).  Besides that, the biggest thing for him to work on is some of the basics – good strong stance, railroad tracks, getting his head/chin back instead of sticking it out like he’s looking to get it hit, keeping his guard up and tight, things like that.  Like I said, he’s improving and getting there.

Not really much of anything going on with me or with the husband.  Our fun of the week was getting stuck in backed up traffic due to a railroad crossing arm malfunction (my understanding is that it was stuck in the down position).  Funny thing was shortly after we made the turn on to said street that was backed up,  police came in and blocked the intersection (or atleast blocked cars from continuing in the direction we were headed) – Damn just a few minutes later/earlier on either of our parts, we wouldn’t have been stuck in the back-up *sigh*.  Eventually, the police did get all of us who were stuck in the back-up turned around so we could go the other direction and find alternate routes (including a semi tanker).  A few people chose to do some off-roading to get turned around.  The officer working to get people turned around helped me do a 3 point (or whatever it was) turn as my car does not do tight u-turns in the least.  I should mention that where we were at, there is a median between the two directions of traffic, a median I wouldn’t trust trying to go over in this car (no telling what it would do to the underside).  So that was our fun & excitement (not very exciting when you consider just sitting there in traffic waiting for something to happen.  They did get the arms working again later that night.

Just before all that,  We were travelling on a different road with lots of construction going on.  I was having trouble (due to the construction and it being dark) where exactly the road I wanted to turn on was.  As I’m looking, I see our local Northwest Fire fire engine coming from said street — Ahhh, thank you guys, now I know where exactly to turn.  Gave them a friendly wave as I turned on to the street and went past.  It was shortly after that, going from the street I turned onto there to the one I was mentioning earlier that we ended up in the back-up and having to turn around.

So enough about me and my excitement.  What all’s been going on with you?   Go on and join the Weekend Coffee Share fun.  Looking forward to reading some once I make myself another cup of coffee.

2 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare May 07, 2017

Share your thoughts

