Friday Fill-In Fun # 45

Here’s my responses to this week’s Friday Fill-In Fun – Questions in bold, My response in italics.

1. The oldest item in my home isthis rocking chair from (we’re guessing sometime in the late 1800s to early 1900s.  It belonged to my husband’s grandmother Lowry and was passed down through the generations.


This cabinet was also considered but is a considerably more recent item….


The cabinet was actually hand-made by my husband’s grandfather, but we’re not exactly sure when…  Sometime in the mid 1900s.

2. The oldest item in my refrigerator is the flaxmeal, I’m guessing.  We have a lot of condiments that have been in there a while (still good though) that could possibly be older but I’m not entirely sure.

3. My family heritage is Jewish.  My mom’s side of the family (both sides of her family actually) are from Germany, though both her parents were born here in America…  On my dad’s side of the family are from Hungary and (I believe) Russia or Checkoslavakia (and no I’m not sure that I’m spelling that correctly).  My grandfather on my dad’s side was actually born in Hungary and came to america sometime before World War II (there’s actually a short story behind that).

4. My favourite family tradition is From my childhood I would say that one of my favorite traditions was making sponge cake with my dad as well as hiding the afikomen and then my dad bribing me to get it for him.

I can’t really say that we have any real traditions that we do now.  We have as a family switched the tradition that I grew up with so that instead of the child hiding the afikomen and the parent having to find before the seder can continue…  The adults hide the afikomen and the chidlren find it and bring it to the adults for a small gift.

*Afikomen: Afikoman (Hebrew: אֲפִיקוֹמָן‎, based on Greek epikomon [ἐπὶ κῶμον] or epikomion [ἐπικώμιον], meaning “that which comes after” or “dessert”) is a half-piece of matzo which is broken in two during the early stages of the Passover Seder and set aside to be eaten as a dessert after the meal.

*Seder: The Passover Seder (English pronunciation: ˈseɪ dəɹ; in Hebrew: סֵדֶר‎ [ˈsedeʁ], meaning “order, arrangement”; and in Yiddish: “seyder”) is a Jewish ritual feast that marks the beginning of the Jewish holiday of Passover.

One thought on “Friday Fill-In Fun # 45

Share your thoughts

