#DailyPost: Lazy Learners

Is there something you’ve always wanted to learn but haven’t gotten around to? What is it and what’s stopping you from mastering the skill?

Actually it’s something I’ve learned before, was actually certified in in the State of Oregon (If I could only find record of the certification – Did I only imagine that I took and passed the certifying NREMT exam as an EMT-I (equivalent to EMT- Basic today)).  There’s also EMT-II (which would probably be equivalent to the EMT-Intermediate, maybe a little bit of advanced) that I would like to re-take.  The first time around  I basically failed the class – In truth, I withdrew from the course but I was doing so poorly that I would have ended up with a failing grade.  It’s always been a dream of mine to, at least, get re-certified as an EMT-Basic.  Why???  Just call it a personal goal of mine.  The desire to get back the recertification I had before.  So what’s stopping me??  Well a big obstacle is that of cost…  I just can’t afford to pay for the classes I would need to obtain my EMT-B.  Sure there’s financial aide (assuming I qualify) but I don’t know if that would cover taking EMT courses, especially when you consider that it is not what you’d call a viable career option for me .  I don’t know, but I’m  pretty sure that Financial Aid would only be available for courses/programs that would lead to a suitable and viable career.  There’s also the fear that I might not have what it takes to keep up in the class  both in terms of the academics and the practical portions.

So there you have my response to today’s Daily Post – “Lazy Learners”

One thought on “#DailyPost: Lazy Learners

Share your thoughts

