#CampNaNoWriMo – Day….. Six

If I was really good at this, I’d be posting a little something on CampNaNoWriMo every day.  But, to tell you the truth,  there really isn’t much for me to say.  I’m not a writing expert (obviously) and this is my first NaNoWriMo event  so I’m pretty well limited on what I can write  blog about.

I will say that I am doing much better than I had anticipated doing.  When I started, I decided on a total (End of Month) goal of 10,000 words as I didn’t want to bite off more than I could chew and 10,000 was the minimum amount I could choose….. Here’s my word count for each day so far this month:

July 1st:  660

July 2nd:  870

July 3rd:  623

July 4th:  258  (not my best day but it was a busy one so I’m excused – right?!?).

July 5th:  814

July 6th:  538

….  Just updated my word count to 3763 well more than 25% (nearly 50%) of my personal word count goal.  Have to take a moment here and add that if I were to do the NaNoWriMo in November – the one that requires 50K words (and is more strict, I understand, about the need to be working on a novel) – I’d  have to commit to about 1650-1700 words a day…  Well I’ve gotten nearly half that a couple different times, but don’t think I’m quite up to that challenge yet.

Surprisingly, the last three day’s writings have actually flowed into one story (rather than the hodge-podge I usually end up).  Here’s some excerpts of what I’ve written:

Margaret did a double take as she looked at the name of the person that she was supposed to be interviewing for her upcoming article on the local Fire Department.  ‘John Reese’…  Surely the chances of it being the same John Reese that she had grown up with years ago were slim.

***********************************************************

“Margaret?”  John asked with obvious surprise.  “Margaret Austin?”

Margaret swallowed a sudden lump in her throat as she extended her hand towards his.

“What brings you here?  John wanted to know.

**********************************************************

Margaret was seriously questioning her sanity as she dialed the number on the card that John had given her a few days earlier.  What the hell was she thinking.  Maybe he wouldn’t answer.  She was just about to hang up when a deep, gravelly, voice answered.

The best advice I can give (and it is the advice I’ve been given by countless other “writers”  (Including Steve Vernon,  “Yours in Story Telling”,  who is also on the CampNaNoWriMo journey)  is to WRITE….  Don’t worry about the what or how, about details or whether or not it is done correctly…  Just open your mind and WRITE  (I must admit it’s a little easier to do if you can get your brain to shut up and let you – LOL).  Doing this NaNoWriMo camp thingy and having something to be accountable to (as well as a set goal) has really helped me to take that leap of faith and just write.
Okay….  Done with my writing & blogging for now.  Got to get a few other things done around here and catch up on my emails and such  (otherwise I’ll lose myself in blogging and writing 😉
Don’t forget to check out this week’s WWBH (My Story Here) – Entries are open till Tuesday evening  (just click on the little froggy at the bottom of the post)…. Or you can put your entry in the comment section of the post (or here) and I’ll add you in.  Happy Writing everyone…  May the Muse be with you.

 

Author: Tena Carr

Why Jottings & Writings?? Because my (main) blog is a mixture of thoughts/opinions (jottings) and my attempts at (very) short story challenges (writings). Interests? - Pretty much anything to do with Fire/EMS/Police, Writing, and Social Media Firefighters, Police officers, Paramedics, Soldiers.... Those are the True Heroes.

4 thoughts on “#CampNaNoWriMo – Day….. Six”

Share your thoughts

