#CampNaNoWriMo – Day One

So today is the first day of July and the first day of Camp NaNoWriMo.  I first heard about NaNoWriMo in relation to the the November NaNoWriMo when writers”  push to get out 50,000 words in a month.  It looked interesting, but I seriously doubted my ability to write 50,000 words in a month (and besides I didn’t – still don’t – have a Novel WIP).  When I heard  that there was a more laid back ‘Camp NaNoWriMo’ with adjustable word count goals of 10,000 & up, and a variety of styles, genres, etc, I began to think, “hmmmm maybe……”  I still hesitated and debated  unsure if I really had what it took and if I should step out of my comfort zone to do this.

One of my biggest weaknesses is comparing myself to others and finding myself short ( in this case figuratively, though literally can also apply given my 4’10 stature).  That includes comparing myself to other writers, especially those who already have books out there (published) or at least have well set WIPs…  I mean hear I am with nothing —  A pantser (and no that doesn’t mean someone who pants another).  In this case a pantser is someone who is writing by the seat  of their pants with no set plans or directions.

The good news is that I started off today with 660 words.  That’s double the set daily goal (according to Camp NaNoWriMo) to reach my 10,000 word count goal for the entire month.

Here’s a very brief excerpt of what I wrote (pardon the roughness).  I wasn’t worrying about editing and such…  Just worried about writing:

(Jack) held the photograph in his hand, his fingers gently caressing the smiling face that looked back at the camera, at him.   The sun was just setting in the background it’s rays making Brenda’s hair appear to glisten and shine.  She couldn’t know how he looked forward to each and every one of her letters.  Couldn’t know how they lifted his spirits when the loneliness hit and home seemed a distant memory.

Author: Tena Carr

Why Jottings & Writings?? Because my (main) blog is a mixture of thoughts/opinions (jottings) and my attempts at (very) short story challenges (writings). Interests? - Pretty much anything to do with Fire/EMS/Police, Writing, and Social Media Firefighters, Police officers, Paramedics, Soldiers.... Those are the True Heroes.

8 thoughts on “#CampNaNoWriMo – Day One”

    1. November is a bit too much for me… Committing to 50k words and having to be (?) working on actual novel… Right now I’m winging or pantsing w/ no set direction.

      Like

Share your thoughts

