#Writing101: Give and Take

This is is my response to today’s Writing 101 Assignment:

Focus today’s post on the contrast between two things. The twist? Write the post in the form of a dialogue

****************************************************************

“Your making a big mistake” Molly’s mom  exclaimed.  “This isn’t the kind of life you want to live…..Being a truck driver’s wife,  it just isn’t for you”

“How would you know?”  Molly had to force herself to keep her voice level and under control.  “You don’t know the first thing about me, about what I do or don’t like, or what kind of life…”

“I’m telling you, you’ll end up regretting the decision later.”

“Why??  Why are you so sure that I’m going to regret this?”

“All those lonely days, and sleepless nights, worrying about whether or not your husband’s okay, whether or not he’s safe or if he’s been in some accident….”

“Mom,’  Molly tried to use a more soothing approach, “Just because  dad died in a trucking accident doesn’t mean that the same will happen to Jeffrey.  Besides  I’m planning on getting my CDL license and traveling with him….  A husband wife team.”

“That’s even worse.”  Molly’s mom ranted.  “Do you realize that you’ll always be on the road, each night a different place?  That your ‘home’ will be reduced to the size of a cramped sleeper…”

“Yes Mom,” Molly replied, “I’ve thought about that.  But I really do enjoy driving and traveling and seeing no places and things…  It’s what I’ve always wanted to do ever since I was little.”

“I know,”  Molly’s mother said with a sigh, “You’re just like your father.   God knows I’ve tried to talk you out it…”

“I know you have but it’s who and what I am, what I’ve always wanted to do”  Molly whispered as she headed towards the door.

“Mom??”  Molly stopped part way to the door turning back to face her mother, “Be happy for me…  And pray for us when we’re out on the road”

“Always!!”  was her mother’s reply.

One thought on “#Writing101: Give and Take

  1. Nice!! The debate comes out clearly between the characters…as well as the feelings of each. No animosity is heard in the Mom’s words, but her real feeling is just that her WORRY for her child’s safety and well-being. The convo is open to the reader to form their own assumption as to how it ends during their next meeting or call. My guess is: the Mom finally gives in to seeing the joys the daughter is experiencing in her travels, while at the same time facing the fact that she will ALWAYS WORRY for her daughter simply because she is a MOM and that is her CHILD.
    I always wanted to be able to write, and very much enjoy reading EMERGENCY! fan fiction writers’ fare. There are so many GREAT writers out there, and I am in constant awe of their talents! But at least I can READ, & 1 for 2 isn’t so bad. 😉
    Keep up the great work, girl!! You’ve got a Fan in me. 😀

    Like

Share your thoughts

