#DailyPrompt: Terminal Time

Today’s Prompt (by DailyPost)

You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?

This one is really so easy to answer that it hardly seems  fair.   I can spend hours just watching the airplanes moving around on the tarmac, taking off and landing.

As a child, I had a hard time sitting still for any length of time.  You could say I was a bit on the hyperactive side.   Whenever we (or I) would be flying somewhere, my dad would leave at such a time as to make sure that he had accounted for any and all possible delays and obstacles.  This usually meant that we would arrive at the departure gate well in advance of our departure time.  In addition to this, there were a number of times when the flight was delayed for some reason or another.  I won’t try to take a guess at how long I might spend in the airport terminal waiting to board.  I’m sure that it seemed like hours and hours (and hours)…  I’m sure it was probably only a couple (maybe a few).  What I do, clearly, remember was the one thing that would keep me entertained pretty much the entire time.  sitting at the window watching the airplanes…..  I still enjoy watching airplanes whenever I chance to be at the airport.  I don’t do much in the way of air travel anymore (the cost has gotten to high), but my son has become quite the little (not so little anymore) flyer.  I can’t say that he has the same love of watching airplanes as I did though.

Share your thoughts

