#Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-three/

Today, celebrate three songs that are significant to you. For your twist, write for fifteen minutes without stopping — and build a writing habit.

The three songs I chose for today’s writing assignment are as follows:

Hans Zimmer – Set me in motion

Hans Zimmer – The show goes on

Robbie Robertson – Shine Your Light

So what is significant about these songs?    For one they come from 2 movies that are 2 of my favorites mainly because they have to do with  (yep, you guessed it) Firefighting…  Pretty ironic when you consider I’m, in no way, officially (or even unofficially) involved in the fire service.  The only thing I’ve got going for me is my interest, my passion (?) for the Fire and EMS service.

The first two, Set Me In Motion and The Show Goes On, come from the movie Backdraft…  I’ve listened to songs from the sound track and those two are by far my favorite.  There’s just something about the two songs that has meaning.  I can’t really explain it, they just speak to me somehow.  Of the two songs from Backdraft,  I would have to say that “The Show Goes On” perhaps is the one that speaks more.  I think it that, in many ways it captures what those in the fire service deal with….  They see a lot of bad stuff,  People constantly judge them as a whole – wanting them to be superheroes, wanting a response yesterday (and yet don’t get out of the way when they’re trying to get to a call), but the show goes on.  There’s is a good day when everyone makes it home at the end of a shift and a bad day very likely equals loss of life or (at very least) injury.

I’ll end with my most favorite of the three songs “Shine Your Light”…  I can’t listen to the song without thinking of the movie, without thinking about the ending of Ladder 49.  I realize that it’s just a movie, but there is a truth to the movie.  How many times in the history of firefighting has that very ending been reality for actual commanding officers (fire chief or captain) of a fire department?  How many times has real firefighters had to stand in that very position – making that ultimate choice to call the evac of all firefighters and rescue personnel knowing that one of there own was still trapped inside?  Knowing that one of their own is not making it out alive?  And how about the job of driving to the widowed spouse with the thought that  all they have to do is see that “red” car pulling up and know that something isn’t right.

I will end with two thoughts:

For all you firefighters out there, may your (flash) light shine brightly in the darkest smoke.  And for those that have fallen may there light shine on.   They will not be forgotten.

One thought on “#Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice

  1. Reblogged this on F.E.S. Tidbits and commented:

    I wrote this piece for today’s Writing 101 assignment from DailyPost (WordPress). Because of it’s relation to the fire service, I wanted to reblog over here as well… It was a free righting type assignment. Hopefully you will enjoy what I “threw” together.

    Like

Share your thoughts

