#AtoZchallenge: History of Paramedicine -J is for JEMS

Those who know me know that one of the biggest interests is in the area of Fire/EMS (though I am not, myself a Firefighter or an EMT/Paramedic).  I decided this year to do my A-Z Challenge using the theme “History of Paramedicine….

*************************************************************************

AtoZ - JMention JEMS in the medical profession (especially when it comes to Emergency Medical Services and people instantly know of what you speak, but for those of you who may not be familiar, I’ll start by explaining what JEMS is, for those of you who may not know.  JEMS stands for Journal of Emergency Medical Services.

From what I have found “JEMS Communication” was started  in 1979 by James O Page (I’ll be posting about him later on in when we get to letter P).  JEMS Communication – responsible for the publication of JEMS magazine and Fire Rescue Magazine

When I was trying to google information on the “History of JEMS” I kept getting information on the history of James Bond… I’m sure he’s great and all, but not what I’m looking for.

I did, eventually, manage to find  3 sources of information (mainly relating to James O Page – I’ll get to him more later in letter P) that talked about JEMS.   One of those sources says that JEMS was founded by James Page in 1979  another source I found had the following to say, “It was 1976……  I continued to follow Jim though his new magazine, Paramedics International (which later became JEMS). ” {In the interest of space I clipped out parts, but you can read the article on JEMS.com by Dr. Bryan Bledsoe}.   Seems I recall reading somewhere else (but darned if I can think where or locate it now)  that James Page had started  a magazine or journal under one name (presumedly Paramedic International)  and later changing it to JEMS.  This all would have taken place sometime in the 70’s.

I really hate to leave this hanging like this, but I keep trying to fall asleep at the keyboard.

************************************************************

Really Quick…. A few blogs for you to check out.

Moontime Tunes

Whatever (My World According to Me)

early day tomorrow and it’s getting late so that’s all I’ve got for you….  Chyeck out the A-to-Z list for more blogs
3 thoughts on “#AtoZchallenge: History of Paramedicine -J is for JEMS

Share your thoughts

