#AtoZchallenge: History of Paramedicine – G is for Gadgets

Those who know me know that one of the biggest interests is in the area of Fire/EMS (though I am not, myself a Firefighter or an EMT/Paramedic).  I decided this year to do my A-Z Challenge using the theme “History of Paramedicine….

*************************************************

AtoZ - G

G —  What can I talk about that starts with the letter G?  The only thing that has come to mind was Gadgets….   But then what can you say about Gadgets when it comes to the history of Paramedicine?   Aren’t most gadgets considered relatively modern?
Actually, there are a number of (what I guess you could call) “Gadgets” that have come about over the history of Paramedicine.
A couple things that come to mind are the invent of the BioPhone which allowed Paramedics to talk to doctors at their “base hospital” and the Defibrillator which was instrumental in managaing heart rythm in the field.       While it’s history is not specifically related to Paramedicine, IV needles are another item that has played a big part in both the hospital and pre-hospital setting.  I could probably go on if I had the time to do more research.
Today, there are many so called gizmos & gadgets used in the world of Paramedicine.

The National EMS Museum has some great resources on the history of Paramedicine.  I highly recommend you go check out their website.

*************************************************

5 Blogs to check out:
7 thoughts on “#AtoZchallenge: History of Paramedicine – G is for Gadgets

  1. I love gadgets but with being quite non techy unfortunately me and gadgets don’t go together as i tend to break them unwittingly or just get frustrated with them, must be something to do with my age, hehe…Hello from another a-z blogger xx

    Like

  2. I still have my favorite gadget from my EMT training, my scissors, those babies will cut through anything from seatbelts to denim pants and everything in between. I still keep a pair in my truck and my small emergency jump bag..:-)

    Like

  3. I bet no matter what age new technology comes out it is always considered gadgets in the beginning! I imagine when the stethescope came out, or tongue depressors, blood pressure cuffs… it was all considered “gadgets” to the old timers! Enjoying your blog!

    Like

Share your thoughts

