#AtoZchallenge: History of Paramedicine – C is for Communication

Those who know me, know that one of my biggest interests is stuff related to Fire/EMS… Last year my theme was “Fire/EMS Safety Messages“. This year I’ve decided to do “History of Paramedicine“.

******************************

I should be on letter D today, so I’m going to keep this short so as to get caught up…

When I first began thinking about what topic to use for the letter C, I came up with Certification, Curriculum, and (thanks to hubby) Communication.

Communication has come a long way over the years.  Yesterday I talked about the Bio-Phone.  Now a days the biophones are seemingly obsolete.  Pretty much everyone carries smart phones and, often time, they are even provided by the department for use exclusively in the communications between paramedic and hospital.

Another big change is in the type of communication needed (or maybe I’m using the wrong word here)…  In the infancy of paramedicine…  EMT/Paramedics played a game of “Doctor May I” (akin to the Mother May I we all played as a kid) with pretty much anything….  Heck, they probably even had to get permission to do CPR; But let’s get back on track and serious….  The number of “Standard Procedures” back then was (I imagine) a relatively short list.

Now a days, communication between the EMT/Paramedic and the hospital is usually related to the “Rampart we’re on our way” type communication, asking for advice in a particularly challenging/unusual case, or asking permission for a an unusual procedure not listed in the Standard Procedures list.

For a great resource on the History of Paramedicine, check out the National EMS Museum

Here’s some blogs to check out:
Jlennidornerblog
Tommias Tablet
Flightless Bird, Thoughtful Wings

;

2 thoughts on “#AtoZchallenge: History of Paramedicine – C is for Communication

Share your thoughts

