#NaBloPoMo: Daily Post – Nov 11, 2013

NaBloPoMo November 2013

As you can see the short stories I’m doing for this NaBloPoMo Challenge are rough (make that very rough).   I’m just sort of hen-scratching ideas and putting them out there….  as I was once told by a friend —  I got nothing to lose.

***************************************************

November 09, 2013

November 10, 2013

It was the following day before Margaret received a reply back from Jason.

“Hey there beautiful (and no, I’m not just saying that).

I’m sorry I left you hanging yesterday.  By now you’ve probably (once again) given up on me.  I was actually on duty and sneaking opportunities to get online via my phone. I forgot to mention that I recently upgraded to a new phone which makes getting online a whole lot easier.   Anyway, we ended up getting a call right after your message came through and it had been pretty much back to back calls after that.   By the time I got home I was pretty well exhausted….  It probably sounds like I’m just making up a bunch of excuses.

I read what you said about that disastrous date.  A guy like that should seriously be tarred & feathered.  What an incredible ASS.  Honestly,  I wouldn’t even consider him a real man (My Grandma always use to tell me, “Robert,  a ream man always treats a lady with gentleness, kindness, and respect”).  After that, no wonder your leery of my previous message.

Perhaps sometime, in the near future I could take you out on a real date……  But for now we’ll table that one and just concentrate on getting to know each other again.   Does that sound as sappy to you as it just sounded to me?   Uggghhhh the guys at the station  where i’m posted would be laughing their asses off at me about now.  no doubt I’d be the brunt of a bit of ribbing.  But I love em.   These guys are as much like family as if they were blood.   You couldn’t ask for a better bunch of guys.   The jokes they come up with, they could make even the most manly man blush….. But I’m telling you they have your back – straight up.

Well, I’d better run.   Scheduled for another 12 this evening (actually my normal shift).  Sure do miss those 24’s.   Brutal being on duty 24 hours straight…..  But you can’t beat it.   Depending on how the evening turns out, I’ll try to sneak some time online later.   Look forward to chatting later.”

“Looks like a busy evening ahead for me….  Meeting with my editor on article I’m working on.  He’s a hard-ass, but a fair hard-ass.   And, if you’re wondering,  he’s married (and something like 20 years my senior).  His wife is an incredible lady and a proclaimed author of several articles and a recent book…..  After that,  I’ll probably be spending well into the evening working on said article.”   Margaret typed up the quick reply and sent it off.

“Just promise me you’ll be safe driving tonight……  And, DON’T FORGET TO EAT!!!”

“I promise”

(To be continued – I think…..  Honestly no idea where the heck this story is headed.   Doesn’t seem to have a solid direction.   I mean it’s obviously headed in a direction of a (hopefully, as far as the guy is concerned) budding romance….  just not clear cut on how to get it there.)

2 thoughts on “#NaBloPoMo: Daily Post – Nov 11, 2013

Share your thoughts

