Share Your World – Week 38

Check out this week’s Share Your World by Cee Neur

 

What were you most likely doing on this day when you were 12 years old?

Lets see, I would have been living in Beaverton, Oregon at the time.   I  may have been taking piano lessons at that time.  It’s possible that I was playing outside or riding my bike.  Back then (early 80’s) kids playing in the street (of residential neighborhnoods) was common place – but there were also lots of adults and older kids (ie older teens) always at least one facing each direction.  If a car was coming (they were always traveling slow) someone would yell “car” and everyone would get out of the way (the older ones making sure any younger kids got safely to one side or other of street.  And of course really really young kids weren’t playing in the streets.  I know it sounds bad to see it written, but we’re talking residential street with lots of kids in neighborhood and very controlled and watched…..  Of course all that playing and such depended on weather….  If it was raining or something (we are talking Oregon here) then I probably would be indoors reading, iif not in school or piano lessons, or other extracurricular activity.  Or maybe I was crossing fanno creek (that ran behind our house) via the bridge in our neighbors back yard and going the back way over to the local 7/11 or Plaid Pantry.

If you could write about, paint a picture or photograph any scenery you’ve seen before, what scene would your use?

Easy….  One involving Emergency Vehicles.  I have a scenario I’ve envisioned but (of course) don’t have the means (ie: don’t know the right people, etc) to pull it off…..  It involves having a Fire Truck and Ambulance facing each other in a wide “V” pattern with a Police Car facing out as if driving out of the “V”.   Bonus would be of course a late evening shot with lights going (late enough to get the full effect of the lights, but no so late that it’s pitch black).

I think my pride and joy (in terms of pictures) is a couple of night shots I got of the engines at FWFD station 29; As well as the photos I got at the Grand Opening/Open House of FWFD Station 5

the two engines below are taken different time – both are FWFD Station 26 (Dave Lackey, if  your out there, A HUGE Thank you for allowing and helping me to get these awesome shots)

0320200818

0513211244

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This one was from a different station (34 I believe)….  I just happened to be at the “right place, right time” moment to capture the rays of the sun as it shone through the windows of the back bay doors through to the front (where I was standing).

0715202244

 

What is one of your favorite quotes?

I think my all time favorite is one that my mother (who died when I was five years old) had written down by Kiekgard “Life Can only be understood backwards, but must be lived forwards” (I think that’s how it goes).  You know how that saying goes… “Hindsight is 20/20” leading to those “I should have/shouldn’t have done that moments.  But it is those moments that allows the greatest sense of learning in life if we allow it.  It is through those moments that we grow as a person and learn (hopefully) to make better choices {I’m still a Work in Progress on that one}

What is your favorite type of dog?  (can be anything from a specific breed, a stuffed animal or character in a movie)

When I was just learning to walk we had an Irish Setter named Shawna/Shauna (honestly I have no idea how her name was spelled).  I was told that I would toddle around holding on to her tail for support/balance….  The funny part was that whenever I’d fall down (and of course let go) she’d stop and turn around and look at me as if to say “Well, Come on…  I’m waiting”

I think one of my favorite dogs would be the German Shepherd.  There is just something about there size and majestic-ness (and yet they can be so gentle).  German Shepherds are a commonly used breed for police work.  I believe this is due to their high level of intelligence, ability to follow command and yet act/think independently; And yet, at the end of the day, they are gentle enough to be taken home to the officers family with little kids around.  They seem to understand (with training of course) the difference between work and home/play

2 thoughts on “Share Your World – Week 38

Share your thoughts

