People can change

For no rhyme or reason, I sometimes find myself thinking of people that I knew years ago in Jr. High, High School (and in a few cases Grade School).  After graduation I lost contact with most of them  and (for various reasons, including finances) have been unable to attend any of the reunions hosted – though  I would have liked to.  The latest one (my 20th H.S. reunion) would have taken place after I moved away from my hometown.  I have had the pleasure of finding  and reconnecting  with many of my old classmates on facebook  and in many ways have found that to (almost anyway) make up for missing the high-school reunions.  Of course the other thing about the high school reunion is that generally they are for the members of that particular graduating class.  For me, howvever, I have found that the people that I’ve reconnected with (and sometimes find myself thinking about) cover not only my graduating class but those in the graduating class before and after me.

Getting reacquainted I have found that many of the same people who enjoyed teasing me, didn’t seem to realize I existed, or (in a few cases) were down-right mean have actually become some of the nicest people.  Or at least that is the perception I get through facebook.  It just goes to show that you never know how people will turn out as they grow up and mature.  Those who were once mean may end up being some of the nicest people.  The ones that were the class clowns, you may find to be deep & thoughtful and full of insight.

And it isn’t just my classmates where there’s been the experience of people changing over the years.  Even as an adult I’ve seen people change over time.  it isn’t to say that everyone changes for the better….  There are, sadly, some cases where people just don’t change and are determined to remain the same year after year.  But there have been a number of times where I’ve known people to change the type of person they were – to act and say and do things differently.

It is often times hard to know what to expect from people (especially as years go by).  On the one hand when a person has acted in a certain manner for so long it becomes expected that they will continue in that manner (and in some cases they just might).  However, there is also room for growth and change and so often we can find ourselves pleasantly surprised by the changes.

Share your thoughts

